To succeed in a business, one needs to be good at maths. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In every society, every individual covets success insatiably. In order to reach this aspiration, some people contend that excelling in mathematics is a must in businessmen. From my point of view, although maths can play a vital role in prosperous business, I, however, believe that there are other several factors that can contribute to one’s success.

The first thing to notice is that people need holistic knowledge in every field in a bid to achieve success. Some claim that mathematics is the most pivotal as it relates to finance and economic growth, but I advocate that social skills and academics in marketing, stocks, etc are also as significant as maths. Undoubtedly, if employers can hone those teamworking skills, cooperating skills and the like, they can perform better at work and culminate in higher productivity. Furthermore, knowledge in different fields and subjects can stand people in good stead in terms of their visions and strategies in the market. As a result, thay can be a precursor for one’s success and job prospects.

Moreover, it is not only about academics and skills that can determine success, but luck and social circles are also of importance. Only when businessmen are given luck and opportunities can they thrive and reap fruitful outcomes, which may not be achieved by only maths skills. According to some anecdotal research carried out by Massechussett Universities, 70% of their graduates who are adept in maths fail in the marketplace due to the lack of visions and social relationships. When people have more diverse social relationships, they can expand their business targets for cooperating in tandem with higher levels of support. People can, accordingly, strive for success more constructively.

In conclusion, although mathematics is, to some extent, crucial, I am convinced that there are manifold factors that can uphold one’s success, including well-covered knowledge and skills as well as the nexus between luck and social span.