Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, economic development has been the top priority in a multitude of countries as it is deemed to be the only way to eliminate hunger and poverty. However, others oppose that it needs to be stopped due to its environmental damages. From my point of view, I believe the growth of the economy should be sustainable to assist with dealing with the poor.

On the one hand, economic growth can help shake off poverty and enhance people's lives. Undoubtedly, the more developed the economy is, the more goods are produced, which is a precursor for higher job opportunities. As a result, people can work, earn money for themselves and live better off. Take the USA as an example, after the great economic growth in the 2000s, 70% of people from all strata of the society got away from poverty and could settle down with a decent life. Moreover, the government can improve infrastructure and services with more financial aid, from which the people will soon benefit.

On the other hand, the effects of higher goods production and focusing solely on the economy on the environment are adverse. Firstly, a myriad of materials are required to meet the needs of economic development, so people will exploit and damage the forest or the ground for that. Secondly industrial waste from factories along with other pollutants from the process of producing goods can exacerbate nature. Economy will grow at the expense of the loss of trees, fossil fuels and sustainable environment.

However, this problem does not mean the economic growth should be impeded but it should be made more environmentally-sound and effective.

In conclusion, the economic growth brings tangible benefits of eradicating poverty and it should be achieved with the care of the environment.