In some countries, only a few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more?

With the proliferation of a multitude of different sorts of music, classical type and its concerts have no longer reigned supreme among the youngsters. From my point of view, there are a myriad of reasons for this situation and I contend that young adults should get incentives to partake in classical music more frequently.

First of all, the lack of interest in classical concerts and songs can boil down to several factors. The first thing to notice is that old songs can be obsolete and out of style for energetic and lively young people. Undoubtedly, the youth’s taste in music can be catered to by upbeat songs with trendy lyrics and the like. Classical ones including folk music, traditional songs or even opera, which amuse the eldery or the middle-aged, may not meet this style. Another thing worth mentioning is that because of the prevalence of pop, rock or rap songs on the Internet and social media, youngsters would be more inclined to listen to them. As a result, they will be less likely to get exposed to classical forms of music.

However, I advocate that young adults should pay more attention to classical shows and music as it can foster and uphold the culture and music history. Classical music is, without a doubt, a representative for the former means of music industry and it offers the traditional way of enjoying music. If the young learn more about it, they can have better understanding about how music has transformed and their playlists can be more manifold. Moreover, some societies even convey messages and values about life, the previous generations and the like through opera or classical songs, so knowing about them is a way to better preserve and acquire a country’s history.

In conclusion, there are numerous contributors to the young being less intrigued in classical music including the differences in style and the influential ubiquity of the internet. However, I am convinced that it is justifiable for them to learn more about this type of music as it enhances cultural values and facilitates better understanding.