In some countries, only a few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more?

In the world of art, the contribution of the classics will always remain unparalleled and timeless. Be it the broken English that Shakespeare called literature, or the music composed by Beethoven despite being deaf, classical art managed to capture the true essence of the world that we live in. With this notion in mind, it is a shame to see its light diminishing in the present world. Only a handful of today’s youth is interested in classical music, while the rest struggle to find a place among the EDMs and pop music charts. In my opinion, it is essential for young music enthusiasts to be exposed to the tunes composed by the maestros.

Music in the 21st century is attuned to the loud and fast-paced nature of the youth; the higher the tempo, the better. Amongst the various genres, upbeat music draws maximum attention; it caters to a more fun aspect of the art. Music today is also a permanent companion of several forms of dance. The youth consequently enjoys a dance which is enlivening and exhilarating. Nightclubs and concerts are considered to be dull and lifeless if they do not play electric guitars and auto-tuned vocals; but the origin of music came from the keys of a piano or the strings of a violin.

The minimising popularity of classical music does not help the overgrowing need for louder, more thrilling music. Classical music has garnered a reputation as boring and slow; it does not incite the hunger for more. However, that is not entirely correct. Classical music was composed as an outlet for the varying degrees of emotions a person felt. It was built as a way to describe the society, gradually becoming the epitome of expertise; a form of art which gave birth to masterpieces. It is my inference that if novice music performers begin their journey with the classics, they will be able to exploit their complete potential as musicians. They should be frequently encouraged to turn to classical music as a guide by attending concerts or playing instruments like the flute and harp.