In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

In the 21st century, a person is referred to as “too laid back” or “lazy” if she or he does not contribute to at least 12 hours each day at the workplace. In countries like the United States and India, working for 70 hours in a week is worn as a badge of honour, which often determines how hardworking the employee is. The consequences of a poor work-life balance are numerous, and this negative impact on a person lasts much longer than expected.

Companies from around the world often use obscene amounts of remuneration as the driving force behind such long work hours. Employees are motivated by offering prize money, a surge in their income or a separate payment for their so-called dedication. In such cases, greed and need both take the centre stage, as some people are desperate to improve their lives, while others are never satisfied with the amount of money they receive. Toxic work environments can be compared to a rat race, where every employee competes for favours and promotions dangling at the end of the finish line.

A strenuous workplace environment further seeps into an employee’s personal life. For example, if a person is stuck at his office for more than 10 hours, he is too exhausted to spend any quality time with his family members at home. By the time he reaches his house at 10 o’clock in the night after a tedious day, he will refuse to even speak properly due to the overexertion he has subjected himself to. Not to mention, such long hours also affect the person’s health severely. Frequent loss of sleep, proper nutrition and sanity will eventually lead to physically life-altering ailments in the long run. The negative impact of excessive long work hours disrupts a life which used to be normal and joyful.

To draw a conclusion, in my honest opinion, overworking has become a serious threat to a person’s mental and physical well-being. A 60-hour week is not a medal or trophy which is to be showcased for the world to see. Nobody has been able to put a price tag on a healthy lifestyle. Hence, stricter laws must be put into place in order to prevent companies from exploiting people in such a horrendous manner.