Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For centuries, space has always been a subject of fascination and intrigue. Much like the stars and asteroids, wonder and curiosity collided and gave birth to innovation and discovery. With Copernicus and Galileo leading the path, it was only a matter of time when space exploration came into the spotlight. Developing advanced technology for venturing into the unknown universe is an expensive affair, which requires money of cosmic proportions; this has invited several concerns from the frugal communities of the world. So, is it truly justified? I believe so, yes.

Our planet is suffering; it has been for the last couple of decades. In their wake, urbanisation and industries have left behind a carnage of barren lands and endangered wildlife. Without the green cover of trees, global warming and pollution have led to dire consequences, one of which will be the end of survival on Earth. Scientists, like Elon Musk, have been encouraging the active search of a new planet which can sustain a better life. An estimation has already been made about the possible meltdown and demise of the South and North Poles by 2050, if actions are not taken immediately.

Other than finding a new home for the human race, scientists have always believed in the discovery of extraterrestrial life. The infinity guaranteed by the universe only confirms the probability of other forms of life in outer space. Studies and research also uncovers the existence of new elements and compounds which may be beneficial to us. Extensive space exploration holds the key to a well of unpredictable knowledge, capable of disproving and altering theories stated by mankind’s greatest minds.

In conclusion, the benefits of exploring space are far too many to ignore. Yes, it can be argued that the money spent on it can be used to resolve a variety of problems; but the rewards offered by space exploration outweighs its shortcomings.