To succeed in a business, one needs to be good at maths. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is supposed by some advocates that should a person want to achieve an outstanding career, they need to excel at Mathematics. From my personal standpoint, I would take a dim view with this opinion due to the following rationales.

First and foremost, we should all acknowledge Maths as a mere subject that exists in every school curriculum around the world. Even when the initiative for taking Mathematics lessons is to enhance the young’s cognitive ability, neither it can have any influence on a person’s performance levels nor task achievements. It is proved by a majority of top-tier scientists that a pupil being gifted at Maths but underperforms in other subjects turns out to exhibit disappointing behaviours during the later life. Moreover, the digital age has given human the ability to make use of computers and machines for calculation-related activities, hence, there is no need to deal with sophisticated figures.

Secondly, it is undeniable that running a business is never a piece of cake in view of the fact that a successful business man is a combination of various skills and a great depth of theoretical knowledge. There are indispensable traits that one need to possess so as to be successful, time managements skills, diligence, cooperation capabilities, effective communications, high productivity, superb working performance, to name a few. That is to say, a CEO do not necessarily have to excel at Maths in order to achieve prosperous outcome, instead, people had better shift their focus on improving other aspects with the aim of reaching the top position.

In a nutshell, I would not take side with the view that a person should be good at Math so as to have a flourish career since there are other crucial factors in determining one’s achievements.