Task 2: Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many countries? What should be done to increase cycling?

While bicycles are considered the most environmentally-friendly means of transportation, the use of such underrated vehicles has not been gaining much attention in civilized countries. This essay will not only discuss the various factors that silent the appearance of cycling in developed areas, but the elaboration on ways to combat this phenomenon will also be made.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why only a small percentage of citizens would consider cycling worthwhile. In a busy society, many people devote a significant proportion of their time to working and entertaining. Since bicycles are such fragile and slow vehicles, their use daily would be too inefficient for heavy workloads. Moreover, cycling is labor-intensive, as the only source of fuel is mostly human’s muscle strength and capacity. As a result, there is no denying that a considerable percentage of commuters seem to choose cars, motorcycles, or even public transport for consistent navigation.

On the other hand, the government can take some measures to positively evaluate cycling, and the use of bicycles in general. One of the most obvious approaches would be the taxation not only on fossil fuels but also on vehicles that explicitly promote fuels that damage the environment. As a result, many people would prioritize cycling, since owning other vehicles would affect their expenses. Besides, the construction of lanes specifically for cyclists would also be helpful for those who personally take cycling seriously. With this development, not only will the traffic system become more flexible, but the environment will also be respectfully handled.

In conclusion, it is a shame that the use of cycling in developed countries is deemed unpopular regardless of how much it contributes to the environment. However, that does not justify the fact that bicycles would be able to receive the necessary attention they deserve.