Task 2. Environmental damage is a problem in most countries. What are the major causes of environmental damage? Who are responsible for preventing environmental damage?

It is obvious that environmental degradation has become a worldwide catastrophe. This phenomenon can be attributed to several factors and different measures should be imposed by the government to tackle the ecological crisis.

There are many causes that have contributed to environmental damage across the globe. Firstly, the growing demands for consumer products and energy have led to excessive mineral extraction. Moreover, due to the development of industry, more available spaces are required for the construction of high-rise buildings and factories, which has resulted in the haphazard exploitation of lowland tropical rainforests. Deforestation has taken place in many parts of the world, significantly depleting available habitats for many species. Many creatures are now on the brink of extinction due to this problem. Secondly, degradation in natural resources has also gone hand-in-hand with contamination. Particularly, the burning and dumping of non-biodegradable chemicals into the surrounding environment, especially water reservoirs, has reduced the accessibility of hygienic water sources, which not only damages aquatic organisms but also caused numerous degenerative diseases for human beings.

Therefore, national and local authorities should hold accountable for the conservation of the environment. Specifically, the government should impose an official ban on all activities that jeopardize natural sources and allocate resources for conservation campaigns for tree planting or construction of reserves such as national parks to protect endangered species. Furthermore, individuals can also organize pressure groups to campaign for the government to immediately take action and expand financial provision for more environmentally-friendly activities.

In conclusion, environmental damage can result from several activities of humans. Thus, several policies and campaigns must be implemented to protect our natural world from degradation.