In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

Recently, despite the possession of several amenities, job prospects, and good healthcare services, youngsters are still uncontented. While this tendency can be attributed to numerous factors, I firmly believe that the governments can adopt different sustainable measures to tackle the current problem.

Firstly, dissatisfaction of young people towards their achievements can be ascribed to the development of advertising industry. Currently, giant advertising corporations tend to aim at youngsters as target audiences, who are like to be swayed by various types of attractive consumer products such as cosmetics, toys, or electronic devices. As a result, they tend to be encouraged to squander their saving on such goods which they are promised to bring them enjoyment. However, these products tend to be made obsolete rapidly and superseded by other trendy ones, eventually resulting in disillusionment among young people. Secondly, the gradually disappearance of social bonds is also a contributory factor for the disappointment of the youths toward the contemporary society. Due to the industrialization and hectic pace of life in urban areas, individuals have to allocate most of their time to shoulder an ever-increasing financial burden, which prevents them from entertaining and communicating with their family. Consequently, feeling of community seems to be fallen by the wayside in these concrete jungles, which can lead to many metal health problems for the youths, especially autism.

Despite the aforementioned detrimental impacts, national and local authorities can also impose different appropriate policies the cope with this phenomenon. In terms of advertising campaigns, the government should implement official ban on exaggerated marketing activities. Furthermore, educational institutions should also hold accountable for raising awareness among students and encouraging them to avoid purchasing goods impulsively. From the recreational perspective, it is also necessary to provide funding for the expansion of free-access sport infrastructure to provide opportunities for youngsters to work out and keep kit, which can effectively prevent them from time-consuming sedentary tasks. These aforementioned can be considered sustainable approaches to bring more fulfilment and happiness into the daily life of youngsters.

In conclusion, while several factors leading to the less enjoyment of young people in contemporary life can be identified, I would argue that several solutions can be also adopted to bring happiness back to the youngsters.