Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

It is true that nowadays, youngsters tend to avoid pursuing their careers in the countryside with farming jobs. While this tendency can be attributed to several reasons, I would argue that it is necessary to raise interest among young people to involve in farming work.

There are numerous factors that contribute to the occupational shift from agronomical to other modern occupations. In terms of leading-edge technology, industrial development has led to the introduction of several advanced techniques for harvest. As a result, conventional agricultural works, in which farmers have to nourish their crops manually, have increasingly fallen by the wayside. From the employment perspective, the gradual disappearance of labor-intensive occupations in the suburbs has also resulted in the lack of well-paid jobs. Thus, the mass exodus of young people from rural areas to city centers is inevitable, in which several sedentary jobs are expected to be a promising selection for them to move up to career ladders.

However, I firmly believe that young people should be encouraged to opt for farming work, which can be ascribed to several reasons. Firstly, despite many beneficial results, manipulation of modern technology can also pose numerous negative consequences for the environment stemming from the release of contaminants or the requirement for more energy consumption. Thus, the participation of farmers is still of paramount importance for the crops. Secondly, due to the excessive migration to urban areas, several young people find difficulty in finding jobs. Moreover, living independently in a concrete jungle can also cause a sense of alienation due to the lack of family gatherings, in which young people tend to lose their confidence in gaining a competitive edge among other employees. Finally, in order to mitigate the ecological crisis, young students ought to be stimulated to involve in agronomical or ecological studies. By applying their academic knowledge, students will have opportunities to contribute to sustainable farming, which plays a crucial role in the development of food industries.

In conclusion, although the use of technology can effectively industrialize agriculture, I believe that sustainable development is impossible without the hand of humans. Thus, young people still need to be encouraged to participate in agricultural studies.