Task 2: In some countries, if people need to find work, they have to move away from their families and their friends. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some parts of the world, people tend to leave their home countries to find occupations. While this tendency can bring some notable advantages, I firmly believe that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks.

On the one hand, one of the potential advantages of this trend is that many people can move up a career ladder thanks to migration to other countries. In some undeveloped regions, it is impossible to find well-paid jobs, especially for young people. Thus, they need to become economic migrants, earn a living outside their countryside, and send money home to support their families. Moreover, it is obvious that working abroad also endows youngsters with valuable knowledge and experiences, which can help them gain a sense of pride from their families and competitive edges when coming back to their native countries.

On the other hand, it should be also noted that there are also numerous disadvantages stemming from the phenomenon. From the cultural perspective, many indigenous people still hold prejudice against economic migrants and their families, which makes them find difficulty to reintegrate into society. Moreover, working in foreign countries also brings several dangers, such as cultural discrimination, in which the migrants are forced to conduct strenuous, labour-intensive, and unhealthy jobs. In terms of the future of the native countries, mass exodus of young people from their own countries to others can result in the disappearance of the traditional way of life, in which ties of kinship and close-knit families will be fallen by the wayside. As a result, economic activity is left in the hands of the ageing population. The loss of young generations in the community is incompatible with the sustainable development of the country.

In conclusion, although working abroad can bring some benefits, I would argue that it can also lead to several detrimental consequences for the migrants themselves, as well as the development of their native countries.