Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is obvious that these days people tend to spend more time on several technological devices in their leisure time. While this tendency can possess both negative and positive impacts, I firmly argue that the disadvantages are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, it is incontrovertible that over-reliance on technology can lead to some detrimental consequences for the users. Firstly, this phenomenon can promote sedentary lifestyles, which reduce the available time for regular exercise, consequently making people prone to several health-related problems. For instance, those who are addicted to keeping their eyes glued on the computer screen can not only suffer from obesity but also damage their eyesight. Secondly, fewer people spending their time on outside activities means the feeling of community will be fallen by the wayside. Moreover, ties of kinship among family members can be also less likely to achieve, which can result in several mental problems such as autism.

On the other hand, I believe spending free time on advances in technology can endow numerous benefits that can be more significant than the drawbacks. In terms of education, it is undeniable that nowadays, being computer-literate is regarded as one of the crucial requirements for graduates and employees to gain a competitive edge and enhance their career prospects. Moreover, concentrating on navigating leading-edge technology encourages people, especially youngsters, effectively broaden their knowledge and helps them easily move up to the career ladders. From the societal perspective, thanks to the aid of social networking sites, there are countless opportunities to connect more people with the same interests around the globe. Although this trend may discourage real interaction, communication via webcam is the most convenient way for the inhabitants in urban areas to save more time and money spent on commuting in rush hour traffic jams, in which transportations usually grind to a halt.

In conclusion, I would argue that reliance on technology to fill leisure time possesses more positive than negative aspects.