Task 2: In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that in some parts of the world, a growing number of young people, including many graduates, are unlikely to leave home and become independent of their parents. While this tendency can be advantageous in some aspects, I firmly believe that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is incontrovertible that living with parents can help youngsters make the most of their time to economize. Many young people find difficulty in renting their own accommodations due to their lack of experience in taking up a property mortgage. Furthermore, they also have to deal with numerous problems regarding repaying student loans or purchasing educational equipment. Even when they are graduated, many youngsters still have to shoulder an ever-increasing financial burden stemming from daily consumer goods, which can be considerably mitigated when living in an extended family. Furthermore, young people can be also advantaged by sharing the overhead costs with their parents of running the family home and contributing to paying bills. This also supports their parents, who may themselves be struggling financially to meet their living expenses.

On the other hand, there are two primary drawbacks of continuing to live with parents. Despite being supported in terms of financial backgrounds, many youngsters need to gain more experiences in living independently, which is of paramount importance to get ahead in life. For instance, they need to take responsibility for their own finances, for raising a family or simply enjoying their private adult life. Secondly, from the perspective of parents, they may want to allocate more time for themselves, free of family responsibilities. After all, they have spent many years nourishing their children and helping them to achieve higher education, with the aim of putting their knowledge gained into practice and pursuing a successful career, so parents now deserve some time for themselves.

In conclusion, although continuing to live with parents can bring some notable benefits, I would argue that the drawbacks are far more significant.