Task 2: Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. What are the reasons for this and is it a positive or negative development?

It is obvious that nowadays, children tend to waste hours and hours on computer games instead of spending time on physical activities. As far as I am concerned, this tendency can be attributed to many factors, which can bring totally negative impacts.

I would argue that the marketing industry can be regarded as a primary factor that contributes to the increasing addiction to computer games among children. Even in developing countries, many youngsters are computer-literate, which provides them with easy accessibility to several advertising campaigns on the internet. Moreover, because children tend to be easily swayed by vibrant forms of advertisement such as celebrity endorsement, several giant corporations have taken these advantages to promote their computer games. However, these products soon become obsolete and are no longer superseded by novel ones. As a result, instead of taking up sports, youngsters tend to squander their savings in the imaginary virtual world of gaming rather than the actual and physical world.

Consequently, the aforementioned tendency has led to several detrimental impacts on children, especially their physical health. Particularly, concentrating frequently on computer games promotes a sedentary lifestyle, whereas youngsters need to take regular exercise. This negative habit can promote numerous health-related problems, including being prone to obesity or short-sighting views. Furthermore, too much time spent on computer games may also promote social segregation, gradually resulting in many mental health problems such as autism. Therefore, it might be a good idea for gaming companies to introduce their products with a warning sign that they may possess health risks similar to drugs or alcohol to raise awareness among youngsters about the disadvantageous effects of computer games.

In conclusion, I believe that advertisers should be culpable for the growing number of game-addicted children, which can bring several detrimental consequences for children’s health.