Topic 04/05/19: Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. What are the reasons for this and is it a positive or negative development?

It has become increasingly common to see children’ timetable filled video games on computers. This also means many of them allocate less time engaging in outdoor physical activities which I believe to do more harms than goods.

On the one hand, playing computer games is an easy entertainment tools for little boys and girls since after hard-working days at schools, they are just eager to have some private time to relax. Secondly, contrary to most parents’ perception, games can actually help boost different skill sets. Children often are required to have good hand and brain coordination resulting in better flexibility and quicker reflexes. Additionally, computer games can be packed with meaningful story-writing and unique character development. These factors will probably develop players’ imagination and creativity necessary for high cognitive function.

On the other hand, that children while away their time playing games instead of sports can have severe consequences for their health and mentality. First and foremost, when young boys and girls stare at the screen for an extended amount of time, without sufficient lighting at times, their eyesight might be detrimentally influenced. Besides, a sedentary lifestyle prevents them from growing physically or even leads to weight issues. In terms of social development, since immersing in sports could involve interacting with peers, staying indoors would impede their communication skills which makes them more reserved, socially awkward or even hostile to others.

To recap, though playing games have their own merits for young children, it may have negative impacts on their physical and social lives. Thus, parents should restrict their time spent on games and encourage them to partake in more outdoors interactive sports.