Topic 23/5/19: In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build houses in their own style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a situation?

It is common to see different building designs in the same residential area due to little city control. While home owners can benefit from the freedom of choice, this trend has some undeniable drawbacks.

On the one hand, designing homes based on one’s architectural preferences should be allowed. For those who have strong opinions about organization and decoration, it would be unfair to force them to live in the same architectural structure as everyone else. If they can organize their own houses and offices, they are more likely to gain a sense of satisfaction and achievement. Additionally, when individuals hire the builders and arrange the household ornaments, the construction industry and furniture retailers could make more profit, resulting in an economic development.

On the other hand, the predetermination of home design can lead to some unwanted consequences. Firstly, different accommodation styles create an extremely eclectic and off-putting image for the residential area. For example, an ancient mansion in a French design could be next to a glass skyscraper which is a modernized style of architecture. That is the case when the rich build in adjacency; however, most neighborhoods have people from all walks of life and not everyone belongs to the same income bracket. Because of this wealth gap, a villa can be seen beside a one-story house, which creates jealousy and competitiveness in the locale.

To sum up, even though people should not be controlled when it comes to house design, I believe that the local authority need to promulgate certain regulations to ensure a harmonious looking residence.