In many cities there is little control on the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build houses in their own style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a situation?

Recently, the issue that citizens can freedom design their houses and office buildings due to lack of law about housing has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this trend may cause some problems, its advantages can easily outweigh disadvantages.

There are some drawbacks of letting people construct building in their own style. First, without certain regalution on housing and building, architects will design their building without considering area surrounding, which may lead to an eyesore when someone look at the whole area. For example, it will be unsuitable if towering skyscrapers are constructed next to famous landmarks because skyscrapers will easily overshadowing landmarks. Another adverse circumstance is some cities appealing visitors due to the unique houses style there so if some owners change their houses, the amount of tourists may reduce. For example, Hoi An is famous for its consistency of antique houses so let people freedom vary their houses, it will influence both culture and economy there.

Although some aforementioned disadvantages, the advantages of this trend will be far more significant. In terms of economy, uncontrolled construction of housing and offices encourages investment in a city. In fact, investors may hesitate when they want to spend money on companies whose areas have myriad law about designing to follow. In terms of visual, no one can deny the beautiful of areas which are blending cultures. For example, District 1 of Ho Chi Minh City is considered as the most exquisite one in this city due to the combine of Europe and Asia style houses and buildings.

In conclusion, while unplanned growth of cities may create some difficulties for society, the benefits of this trend will be more huge.