Topic 07/06/19: More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that obesity has become a common bodily condition, especially in children. Thus, raising the cost of fattening products is recommended as a measure to tackle this problem. This solution has its merits; however, I believe other actions should also be taken.

On the one hand, products containing high levels of sugar, gluten and lipid have been preferable by consumers because they are easy to prepare and cheap to purchase. For instance, the supermarkets in the UK are filled with high-calories frozen oven fish and chips at an unimaginable low price. Nevertheless, the increasing price of high-fat foods will probably discourage customers, especially those in a lower-income bracket. Alternatively, buyers will have to opt for fresh ingredients to cook at home, which is likely to reduce rate of obesity.

On the other hand, individuals who are preoccupied with work and incapable of cooking will not be too affected by the high price; thus, this requires other solutions. Firstly, the government and institutions devoting to health should launch campaigns to raise people’s awareness about a nutritious diet and the severe consequences of being overweight. Besides, it is the supermarkets’ and retailers’ responsibilities when it comes to the promotion of low-carb, low-sugar foods by deals and discounts to change consumers’ harmful eating habits. Finally, it is suggested that if schools offer health and nutrition subjects and their cafeterias only serve healthy foods, their students will greatly benefit. For example, children can be taught cooking lessons and the nutritional values of different foods so as they can select what to incorporate into their diet.

To conclude, although increasing the cost of fattening foods can be an effective way to address obesity, other measures on the base of consumerism and education are needed to uproot the problem.