Topic 25/04/19: In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is increasingly common for people to live individually or in nuclear families instead of extended ones. Even though it can be stressful at times, I believe that this is a positive development for the society.

Both individuals and the government can encounter difficulties when smaller family groups become a popular trend. Firstly, people living alone and children living with working parents can experience loneliness. The former may have neither mental nor financial supports from family members or relatives if they decide to pursue an independent life. The latter is likely to be detrimentally affected by isolation and neglect from their family, which is an upsetting situation. Additionally, more households equal more accommodation built to meet the needs; however, the amounts of land and national budget for construction are limited. Therefore, this creates pressure on the government to provide adequate residence.

On the other hand, people staying in small units can help the family and the economy. That extended families with huge generation gaps has been known to cause conflicts among members. As a result, fewer people in a household will probably increase solidarity and closeness. Secondly, when individuals live alone, they can be more independent and responsible for themselves by paying for expenses, such as bills, rent, foods and drinks. Finally, this trend is also advantageous for the economic development. More demands for real estate and household appliances are certain to boost production and trading. For instance, IKEA is one of the most renowned furniture and decoration companies that has branches in many countries.

To recap, while small households lead to loneliness and tension for the governmental bodies, people are recommended to live in nuclear families or alone because of individual independence and economic progress.