Topic 11/5/19: Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions?

It is increasingly common to see graduates, despite their bachelor’s degree, fail to master the most fundamental interpersonal skills, such as teamwork. This phenomenon concerns firms and corporations, who worry that their new employees cannot meet the working standards. Several reasons and solutions for this problem will be mentioned in this writing.

Newly recruited staff’s lack of collaboration can be attributed to both their education and family backgrounds. Firstly, the education system is at times too theory-based with little practice. This leaves no room for communication among students and they have few opportunities to practice teamwork skills. For instance, Vietnamese schools only require students to listen to lectures and cram for exams individually. Another cause is that many children are over-indulged by their parents leading to heightened selfishness and self-importance. This can be explained by the one-child policy due to overpopulation and the high living standards in many countries. As a result, young adults do not recognize the need to share and to work harmoniously in a group.

However, there might be some effective solutions to combat this issue. In terms of education, teachers should make attempts to renovate the curriculum and incorporate more group work. This would give students the chance to express themselves, listen to others and negotiate for ideas. Evidently, many institutions worldwide have adopted multiple group assignment syllabi for students to practice team-working skills. Secondly, it is parents’ responsibility to learn proper parenting. Once their awareness is risen, they can bring up independent yet cooperative individuals for the future job market. Finally, enterprises can make a change by offering training sessions for their own staff to boost group membership.

To conclude, while I agree that new employees have not mastered collaborative skills, I also believe that this can be mitigated by the cooperative action of teachers, parents and the businesses themselves.