Task 2: Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions.

It is obvious that recently, poor interpersonal skills can be observed in new staff. While this tendency can be attributed to several factors, there are still many measurements that can be employed to tackle the problem.

The lack of interpersonal skills can be ascribed to the change in the roles of families and educational institutions. In terms of the home, children’s personalities are usually shaped during their formative years, in which parental involvement is of paramount importance. However, due to the ever-growing number of nuclear families, as well as the mass exodus of young couples from the countryside to the city center, ties of kinship and close-knit families tend to become a thing of the past. This tendency has led to inadequate opportunities for parents to teach their children how to live in harmony with one another. From the schools’ perspectives, currently, children are encouraged to obtain individual achievements in exams, instead of attaining social skills, such as teamwork, which has resulted in their inappreciation towards being a team-players.

Thus, in order to conduct business efficiently, corporations should employ more solutions to improve the interpersonal skills of their staff. Firstly, priorities should be provided in different extra-curricular activities to enforce the employees to work as a team with their colleagues. Moreover, the companies should also endow funding for additional training courses, which help their staff to make the most of the latest management techniques. Secondly, the code of conduct at the workplace ought to be strictly implemented for both new and existing employees to promote communication and cooperation.

In conclusion, although this phenomenon may be ascribed to several factors, I would argue that there are many solutions that can be implemented by companies to enhance the interpersonal skills of new staff.