Task 2.As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that besides profit maximization, enterprises should also hold accountable for societal manners. Despite several controversies, I partly agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

On the one hand, the effort of the enterprises to prosper may have numerous benefits. Firstly, the higher profits earned by these corporations, the more taxes they have to pay to the government. As a result, the national and local authorities will receive more revenue to allocate resources to several crucial fields of the community, including education and the healthcare system. Secondly, earning huge profits also endow opportunities for enterprises to develop their business. Resultingly, firms can utilize their money for the expansion of infrastructure, which requires more workforce and ultimately alleviates the rate of unemployment in the community.

On the other hand, I firmly agree that in addition to maximizing profits, the business should also hold profound responsibility for the public. In terms of the environment, several activities of enterprises may pose a significant influence on the ecosystems. Without appropriate regulations, haphazard manufacturing planning of the industries can lead to the release of toxic waste, which stimulates global warming and environmental degradation. For example, if factories introduce a restriction on the discharge of chemical waste into water reservoirs, water pollution can be efficaciously attenuated. From an economical perspective, enterprises can also contribute to the support of those who are less fortunate such as the unemployed or elder people. Moreover, providing funding for philanthropic organizations regularly is also one of the effective ways to promote the enterprise’s public image and enhance their reputations. For instance, some giant corporations such as Vinamilk or Unilever have significantly promoted their brand awareness via a number of charitable campaigns for educational institutions and ethnic minorities in different parts of the world.

In conclusion, also making profits play an indispensable role in the development of the business, I believe that they should also pay attention more to their social responsibilities.