Task 2. The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of people?

It is true that recently, there has been a dramatic growth in the population of many cities. While this tendency can possess profound effects on the lives of urban dwellers, several solutions can be employed to tackle the problem.

The mass exodus of migrants from the countryside to the urban areas can result in numerous consequences for daily life in the cities. In terms of accommodations, an excessive increase in population density means urban infrastructure will be inadequate to cope with the daily requirements of people. Lack of housing stocks can increase homelessness and promote the appearance of shanty towns and slum areas. As a result, many inhabitants have to endure squalid housing conditions. From the societal perspective, the rapid expansion of the city population also leads to a shortage of employment. Furthermore, youngsters will find more difficulties to earn a living, as well as shouldering an ever-growing financial burden resulting from accommodations or healthcare services.

In order to maintain an acceptable quality of life for the residents, national and local authorities should impose different appropriate measures. Firstly, people should be provided access to amenities, and this could be made possible through the regulation of the policies regarding property planning and construction programs. Secondly, the government should also introduce restrictions on the number of people flooding the city centers to mitigate the excessive increment of labor and economic migrants. This could be an effective stopgap measure while funding was provided for the improvement of the economy in rural areas in terms of jobs, education, and healthcare systems.

In conclusion, the massive migration of people from the countryside to big cities can pose a high threat to the daily life of urban residents. Thus, action must be taken to ensure a decent quality of life for people that have been directly influenced by this tendency.