Task 2. An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

It is incontrovertible that the incontrollable increase in the number of consumer products has led to several environmental consequences, especially ecological crisis. While this phenomenon can be ascribed to several reasons, I would argue that several measures can be also employed to tackle the problem.

The environmental impacts resulting from the excessive production of consumer products can be attributed to two primary reasons. Firstly, the ever-growing demand for different forms of transportation and heavy industries has led to the requirement for the navigation of more sources of fuel. Consequently, mineral extraction has been haphazardly promoted, causing environmental degradation in many parts of the world. Although advances in technologies have been broadly employed in the fabrication of green energy sources, the production of energy storage devices always requires the utilization of metallic minerals such as cobalt or lithium, which lead to massive habitat destruction across the world. Secondly, the usage of consumer products also stimulates the release of toxic waste, which possessed slow biodegradability. These contaminants are also constituted of complex chemical properties, which can strongly interact and damage the organisms in aqueous sources, consequently jeopardizing the aquatic ecosystems and human health.

Fortunately, national and local authorities can implement different policies to attenuate the release of these harmful products into the environment. In terms of consumption regulations, it is true that several consumer goods such as televisions, phones, or cars, can be made obsolete quickly. Hence, improvements in manufacturing processes should be prioritized to prolong the period of usability of these products. From the perspective of recycling, it is also necessary to introduce restriction on the release of toxic products, such as plastic into the environment. Instead, technological breakthroughs need to be promoted to introduce more recycling plans for each household and industrial product. If more goods can be reused, then there will be less depletion of natural resources.

In conclusion, it is obvious that ecological destruction stemming from uncontrolled consumption is one of the most serious problems for society. Thus, decreasing consumption and employing more recycling campaigns need to be ubiquitously expanded.