Task 2: In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that nowadays, urban dwellers tend to live on their own or in a nuclear family. As far as I am concerned, although this tendency can lead to some negative consequences, living in small households still possesses some notable benefits.

On the one hand, the trend of living in smaller families can be attributed to the significant increment in the accommodation price. Moreover, the migration of people from rural to urban areas has resulted in the ever-growing demand for more available estates. Therefore, housing stocks in many cities tend to be inadequate to meet the need of migrated individuals. Moreover, property developers have taken the advantage of this population shift to raise house prices, in which they tend to construct more apartment blocks that just provide adequate areas for small families. If they do not wish to endure squalid housing conditions, it is crucial for people to live alone or with smaller groups.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that some drawbacks can be observed when the tendency of forming nuclear families becomes ubiquitous. Firstly, with the mass exodus of people from the countryside to city centers, ties of the kinship of typically extended families in the rural areas can be broken. As a result, family gathering takes place rarely, and several household expenses can no longer be shared between many family members living under the same roof. For instance, grandparents used to play a crucial role in supporting parents with house prices, child-minding, or cooking. Secondly, living alone can also promote a sense of alienation among individuals. Without parental financial and mental support, they tend to suffer from several social and health problems, which attenuate their motivation to pursue their study and career.

In conclusion, I believe that the tendency of living in nuclear households can bring both positive and negative consequences for the individual in both financial and social aspects.