People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons for this, and how can people learn more about the natural world?

It is incontrovertible that these days, less attention has been given to the natural world. While this tendency can be attributed to several reasons, I believe that numerous solutions can be employed to tackle the problem.

On the one hand, one of the major reasons why people tend to disregard the paramount importance of the natural world is the gradual disappearance of traditional ways of life. In terms of work, farming, hunting, or fishing are currently the occupations of the minor population of the workforce in the countryside. Meanwhile, due to the emergence of leading-edge technology, people tend to spend most of their life for sedentary jobs in closed environments, such as offices or factories, which prevent them from interacting with the outside environment. From the perspective of culture, traditional festivals regarding natural seasons have also fallen by the wayside. The celebration of nature such as times for spring or harvest, which provide a link to our roots, is now only conducted by the hands of aging populations, while younger generations are now addicted to different kinds of electronic media.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned reasons, I suppose that the national authorities and educational institutions can solve this phenomenon by implementing different measures. Firstly, people should be given more opportunities to participate in different voluntary jobs, which involve the protection of the environment or endangered species. Secondly, advertising corporations should also allocate resources to stimulate a revival of interest among their target audiences by showing more TV programs regarding environmental problems such as global warming or contamination. Furthermore, the lecturers should also provide more lessons about life on the planet to give their students a sense of responsibility in preventing environmental degradation. Additionally, parental involvement is also crucial to raise environmental awareness among children.

In conclusion, although there are several factors contributing to the less understanding of the natural world, I suppose that there are many ways that can be applied to overcome this lack of knowledge.