Task 2: Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

These days, it is true that national and local authorities are imposing different policies to cope with adequate housing stocks in urban areas. While there is a widespread belief that the expansion of city areas can be an appropriate measure, other people also argue that it is better to build more high-rise buildings. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that the best solution is to allocate resources to the construction of tower blocks.

On the one hand, widening areas for urban areas can possess both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, the expansion of the city can provide a decent and healthy environment for the inhabitants, in which the speculation of more recreational and modern public transport infrastructure is also promoted. Such amenities can be also considered indispensable aspects for the sustainable development of the economy as well as the well-being of the citizens. However, despite the aforementioned benefits, extending urban areas outwards also means the destruction of natural habitats is inevitable. In such circumstances, deforestation and mineral extraction are also stimulated to meet the demands for construction materials and transport, which can eventually lead to several environmental consequences, including the emission of greenhouse gases and the extinction of numerous species.

On the other hand, promoting the construction of towering skyscrapers is probably a better measure to cope with the explosion of population density. From the economic perspective, living in apartment blocks tends to be more affordable, especially for young people, who find several difficulties in shouldering the ever-growing financial burden stemming from accommodation and running the family home. In terms of living standards, thanks to the implementation of several policies regarding property planning and construction programs, the citizens now still receive acceptable life quality even when living in apartments, which possess adequate necessary facilities including healthcare, educational, and recreational establishments. Therefore, although some people still have to endure a narrower living conditions, such development is one of the most optimal stopgap measures to provide accommodations for humans without jeopardizing the environment and endangered species.

In conclusion, although both solutions can bring notable benefits and drawbacks, I would argue that constructing tower blocks is a more suitable solution to meet the need for housing stocks for the citizens.