In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

In several parts of the world, younger generation has had an improvement in financial, health and life expectancy; however, their rate of happiness declines. There could be numerous reasons for this phenomenal, and some solution will be needed to tackle such issue.

The decline in happiness among affluent and healthier youth may stem from several factors. To commence with, due to the fast-pace nature of modern life, charactered by intense competition or working-related stress, people’s contentment can be overshadowed. For instance, people try to work hard, even overtime working-schedule, to gain promotions at work and get more money. This makes them do not have enough time to relax and rest, consequently causes to stress and depressed. Moreover, in the increasingly development society, young people may be easier influenced by social media including unrealistic comparison and aspiration. This can make younger suffer some mental issues in long term, feelings of inadequacy and self-doubt for example.

To counter this disheartening trend, several measures can be taken. Firstly, the government as well as companies should encourage work-life balance life-style among employees. Many researches have shown that creating a harmonious work-life balance not only prevents modern employees from risk of morbidity and under enormous stress but also enhances their quality of work. Furthermore, families and schools also play a role in addressing aforementioned issue. They should teach their children how to collect the informations in the Internet, differentiate between genuine happiness and manufactured appearances, leading to a more realistic self-assessment.

To sum up, there are several reasons contributing to the trend that young people has enhanced in financial and health but become less happy. I believe that, to tackle this problem, from government to schools and families need to take step-by-step measures to empowder the younger generation to counteract the adverse effects of modern-life challenges.