Task 2: Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. Wha are the reasons and what can be done to encourage them to spend their time walking?

there is no doubt that walking is the simplest form of exercise to better human’s health. However, nowadays people are becoming less and less walking. In this essay, both reasons and possible solutions will be discussed as below.

there are several explanations for why individuals are not interested in walking. The first reason may be that citizens now have had a variety choices of doing exercise which are more excited and challenging than just simply walk. The second reason is that particularly in big cities the space using for walking is gradually narrowed. The number of parks is not enough for the citizen to walk and additionally sidewalks are taken by motorists and parking. For example, in Vietnam, in the rush hours, thank to traffic jam drivers may take over the footway or stores and shops along both sides of roads would use the footpath in front of their shops for customer’s parking.

some solutions may be taken by the government and each person which can help to tackle this problem. From the authority, funding should be allocated to build more parks and enlarge the footpath from both sides of the road. Furthermore, heavy fines must be applied for those who violate the road of encroachments and park illegally which can be caught by the system of street cameras. Moreover, people’s awareness of the benefits of walking such as simple, convenient, age suitable,… should be advertised on TV and social media in order to attract more people’s intentions.

In conclusion, walking is the simplest method for improving individual’s health and some solutions are proposed to deal with this issue coming from both government and each person.