Task 2: In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is predicted that the percentage of the elderly in the future will be dominant compared to youngsters in many nations. In my opinion, this is by no means a beneficial growth in consideration of the drawbacks the situation brings.

On the one hand, I can understand that why the population of older people compared to young people is increasing at an alarming rate. First of all, the pregnancy rate in many countries have sharply decreased. This is because with the advancements of technology, people now have different mindsets in comparison with the past as many individuals consider raising a family unnecessary. As a result, the workforce is not renewed with youngsters and adults. Additionally, as life expectancy increases, so as the amount of pressure put on the next generations. With extending life span and other illnesses such as depression and obesity, this trend is predicted to continue.

On the other hand, I fully concur with the idea that this trend will do more harm than good. Firstly, this will put a heavy toll on a country’s economy since governors have to pay an increasing amount of pension to older people which could have been used to invest in the development of projects benefiting citizens. Secondly, the lack of young people may result in the reduction of the available workforce. Consequently, many positions will be vacant, it will be harder for companies to employ people and the production rates will be lowered. Ultimately, this may cause a crisis that affects the country’s economy.

In conclusion, I consider this a negative development seeing its impact on the population and the nation’s economy. Immediate measures must be taken to close this case once and for all.