In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

The increasing number of old population has become the norm in many nations around the world. There are many problems related to the phenomenon which will be discussed below.

The primary impact of an old population on society could be witnessed on many

aspects. First, it will exert a great pressure on the welfare and healthcare systems of countries. As people get older, their general health tend to degrade, old citizens then have to depend on the support from others which are often the healthcare employees. Likewise, when a large number of old people get sick, the need for hospitals, medicines, medical services is underscored. In addition, in nations where the number of the elderly is dominent, young people have to sacrifice a bigger proportion of their income to support their older counterparts. Some young individuals may not may not accept the reality and choose to migrate to other countries thus exacerbates the problem on those who remain.

Economic issue is of secondary concern for countries having old population structure. Given the fact that the old who have spent years contributing to their nations are not able to work in their old age, would result in the shortage of workers in certain fields especially labor intensive ones. For instance, Janpan with the majority of their people are old people recruit many employees from less developed nations in medical and manufacture sectors. Another challenge for the economy is to fund the facilities and services for older individuals, other priorities including finance for education, transportation would be cut off. Thus, the living standard of the whole population would be placed at risk.

In sum, when many people are in old age in a country, their community and general economy could be negatively impacted. I believe this phenomenon is a negative development.