Task 2: In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

Some people think the Internet have gradually replaced the internet the face-to-face conversation, and it is possible to work, shop or chat with friends from home without meeting in the real life. In my opinion, this is the negative development and I will prove my viewpoints in this essay below.

Despite the fact that the internet improves the life quality and makes the daily life of people become more convenient, it still has negative effects on some aspects. Actually, reducing making the direct conversations can increase the loneliness and make the relationship become more distant. One obvious example is the meeting of former classmates who are no longer meet each other day-to-day after leaving school. Due to the busyness and the pressure work, many people keep in touch with their friends by chatting online and rarely arrange time to have the face-to-face meetings. As the result, it leads to the sparse chats and people may feel empty and realise that they are gradually losing contact with society.

Furthermore, in some case, the direct communication is more effective. It is true that the critical decisions should be discussed by face-to-face negotiation. For instance, the contracts require the actual signatures from parties involved and online meeting can not replace negotiating directly. One more example is buying shoes online, which the products may be damaged during delivery. Meanwhile, people may have the practical experience at retail stores about material, quality and fit of the shoes before deciding to make a payment.

In conclusion, although internet is more and more widely used globally, I personally believe that it cannot replace the face-to-face communication in the daily life of people.