task 2: Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that scientific studies should be conducted by governments instead of companies. I agree with the view that not only governments but businesses need to be in charge of carrying out research activities

On the one hand, it is obvious that the authorities have a responsibility to conduct scientific research including both basic scientific and practical scientific studies. This is because the governments of different countries can easily collaborate with each other, they may be able to conduct studies on a large scale, which require a large investment. For instance, the active collaboration strategy between the UK and the EU is to deal with climate change, tackle infectious diseases in people, animals and plants. As a result, the top scientists across countries can resolve these complex global issues. Another reason for this is that governments tend to pay attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Studies related to environmental issues and crime rates, in fact.

On the other hand, I partly agree that companies play such a vital role in conducting practical scientific research. Firstly, the result of these researches will create profit and it also is the top priority of each company, and this will encourage enterprises to make an effort to conduct research more quickly and more efficiently. For example, a company, like Teva has been carrying out extensive research to solve generic drug problem to provide them for patients, which can lower out-of-pocket costs patients. Secondly, when private companies invest in research fields, the constraint of finance on government’s budget will be relieved, helping government have more cash to spend on other main areas such as infrastructure or health and medical services. This might lead to improvement in the quality of life of the whole community.

In conclusion, although I strongly believe that conducting research activities is the primary duty of governments, I would argue that businesses should involve in these activities.