Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that governments should conduct scientific studies instead of companies. While some individuals are in favour of this view, I agree that not only governments but businesses need to be in charge of carrying out these studies.

On the one hand, it is obvious that conducting the research including both basic and practical scientific studies should be responsible for governments. This is because the governments of different countries can easily collaborate with each other, they may be able to conduct studies on a large scale, which require a large investment. For instance, the active collaboration strategy between the UK and the EU is to deal with climate change, infectious diseases and this will help scientists across countries can resolve these complex global issues. Another reason for this is that governments often tend to pay attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Studies related to environmental issues and crime rates are great examples.

On the other hand, we cannot deny that enterprises play such a vital role in conducting practical scientific research. Firstly, the result of these researches will generate profits and also it is the top priority of each company, which will encourage enterprises to make an effort to conduct research more quickly and more efficiently. For example, a company, like Teva has been carrying out extensive research to solve the generic drug problem to provide them for patients, resulting in a decrease in the cost of out-of-pocket patients. Secondly, when private companies take part in investing in research fields, the constraint of finance on government’s budget will be relieved. As a result, it helps government have more cash to spend on other main areas such as infrastructure,health and medical services. These activities will improve/boost the standard of people’s living.

In conclusion,I strongly believe that both governments and businesses are duty of involving in these scientific researches