task 2: Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that scientific studies should be conducted by governments instead of companies. I agree with the view that not only governments but every company needs to be responsible for carrying out research activities

To begin with, there is no doubt that the authorities have a responsibility to conduct scientific research including both basic scientific and practical scientific studies. This is because the governments of different countries can easily co-operate with each other, they may be able to conduct studies on a larger scale, which require a larger investment. For instance, the collaboration between the UK and the EU is to deal with climate change, tackle infectious diseases in people, animals and plants. Thanks to these collaborations, the top scientists across countries can resolve these complicated challenges worldwide. Another reason for this is that governments tend to pay attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Many Studies related to environmental issues and crime rates are great examples.

However, I would argue that companies play such an important role in conducting practical scientific research because of its result which will create profit and also it is the top priority of each company, they would make an effort to conduct research more quickly and more efficiently. For example, a company, like Teva has been carrying out extensive research to solve generic drug problem and then provide them for patients. This can lower out-of-pocket costs patients. The second, when private companies invest in research fields, the constraint of finance on government’s budget will be relieved, helping government have more cash to spend on other main areas including accommodation, health and medical services or education. This might lead to improvement in the quality of life of the whole community.

In inclusion, I believe that both governments and private companies should be involved in research activities.