Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

there are different views about whether governments should conduct scientific studies or companies. While some individuals are in favour of the authorities, I agree with the view that not only governments but businesses need to be in charge of carrying out these studies.

On the one hand, it is obvious that conducting the research including both basic and practical scientific studies should be responsible for governments. This is because the governments of different countries can easily collaborate with each other, they may be able to conduct studies on a large scale, which require a large investment. For instance, the active collaboration strategy between the UK and the EU is to deal with climate change, infectious diseases in people or animals and this will help scientists across countries can resolve these complex global issues. Another reason for this is that governments often tend to pay attention to research areas that can benefit society as a whole. Studies related to environmental issues and crime rates Are great examples.

On the other hand, I concur with those who argue that enterprises play such a vital role in conducting practical scientific research. Firstly, the result of these researches will generate profits and also is the top priority of each company, which will encourage enterprises to make an effort to conduct research more quickly and more efficiently. For example, a company, like Teva has been carrying out extensive research to solve generic drug problem to provide them for patients, resulting in a decrease in the cost of out-of-pocket patients. Secondly, when private companies take part in investing in research fields, the constraint of finance on government’s budget will be relieved, helping government have more cash to spend on other main areas such as infrastructure or health and medical services. This might lead to improvement in the quality of life of the whole community.

In conclusion, although I strongly believe that conducting research activities is the primary duty of governments, I would argue that businesses should involve in these activities