Task 2: Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better for them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is often argued that Governments should not force criminals to serve prison sentences due to the its ineffectiveness, but
rather be softer on crimes by applying education and training. Personally, I partly agree with this perspective.
On the one hand, there are reasons explaining why some people support the idea of using educational environment and
training on deterring criminals. First, in terms of involuntary crimes, long prison sentences would seem too ruthless
and not socially widely accepted. Because the crimes, normally the law-abiding ones, might have committed the crimes not
on purposes, such as for self-defense or feeding their family when it comes to robbery, not for their own profit. That
is why non-custodial verdicts such as community service orders, vocational education and probation orders would be
handed out and act as a deterrent in these cases. Second, for serious crimes, even homicide, it would be a waste on
sending them to prison if they were not fully and properly educated to change their nature from a criminal into a good
human. Moreover, through education and training, the officials may gain more insights into the motive of criminal
offenses, and thus to come up with more congruous solution to reduce crime rate.
However, as far as I have concerned, to culminate the effectiveness of dealing with crimes, governments should not
rank in education and training. Instead, using this solution with rigorous supervision on crimes could be more
practical. As I mentioned above, notorious crimes with unethical behavior basically need much time to change for the
better. It means in the early stage of using education and training, there is a high possibility they could return to crime
again, and may negatively affect their counterparts. In addition, in terms of cases that are too heinous and dangerous, the
full weight of the law and the policy of zero-tolerance must be imposed to make sure social security.
In conclusion, governments should ponder using alternative ways to penalize offenses but in a way of flexibility. It means
the leaders should combine education and training with strict policy before granting a certain summary judgement