It is sometimes believed that people with good calculating skills will have more chance to succeed in their business. However, I think this perspective is to some degree dated, and there are also many other aspects deciding the final outcomes.

On the one hand, it is somewhat advantageous for those who are good at calculating because they can give faster results than those who are not. Nonetheless, the advancement of technology has fundamentally improved the way people do works relating to maths. For example, with the help of numerous computer software and calculators, not only can we solve mathematical problems quickly but we are also able to plan business strategies accurately. Therefore, it seems rather old-fashioned to me to think that a person needs to know maths to be successful in his or her career.

More importantly, there are several determining factors for the prosperity of an enterprise besides maths. Firstly, companies are ultimately responsible for the quality of their products or services, and they need to guarantee that all the things supplied to the customers are good if they want to survive and proliferate in the market. Communications skills are another crucial element which constitutes a successful business. It can be said that smooth and comprehensible information transferred between employees or between suppliers and customers can enhance the productivity, hence better profits. In addition, various objective impacts such as global economic recession, extreme weather conditions, or epidemics might also impair the achievement of a business. The Covid-19 pandemic has catastrophically affected millions of enterprises in the world, and maths does not seems to be useful for many owners.

Generally, maths is useful but being successful necessitates other merits such as good products, good customer service skills or even some lucks.