Teachers used to convey information, but now with wide resources of information, there is no role for teachers to play in modern education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent years have witnessed an increase in the proportion of autonomous learning, raising many questions of teachers’ essence. Given that learning through alternative sources of information could be fraught with pitfalls, teachers could not be replaced in modern education.

On the one hand, there are many benefits when it comes to studying by alternative resources of information. First, Cloud-learning is invariably associated with the deficiency of effective practice and oversaturation of abstract knowledge. This is proved to act as the deterrent for students from comprehending the lessons, thereby losing their passion on learning. Second, learning through the Internet correlates with the higher degree of distractions stemming from other online materials such as notifications and messages of social networks or online pop-up advertisements. This is a catalyst for lower level of learning concentrations, preventing students from making progress.

On the other hand, it should be acknowledged that the replacement of teachers in educational system ought to be discouraged. First, only teachers could understand the strengths and weaknesses in students’ potential academic capacity. Therefore, they would devise the most effective teaching methods based on the students’ needs, fueling their academic attainments. In addition, compared with robot teachers, only teachers could organize many team-work activities, incentivising interaction and consultation among class members.

In conclusion, due to many disadvantages associated with self-learning from alternative information sources, it is highly recommended against the replacement of teachers in modern education. Official authorities should offer more teacher training programs in educational institutions to guarantee the best teaching quality for students in the long-term.