Team activities can teach more skills for life than those activities which are played alone.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent decades, the question of which type of activities can teach more important skills for life, has become a topic of discussion. Although team activities are beneficial in many cases, personal activities should be considered essential for everyone to learn most life skills.

There are a number of reasons why solo activities are necessary for developing one’s skills. First, it is true that in teamwork, tasks are broken into different parts and assigned to each member, meaning that each person only knows clearly about his or her part without any knowledge of other parts. Meanwhile, by doing those tasks alone, one can be able to completely understand how to cope with the whole task, which develops problem solving skills. Second, individual works help one to boost independence skills. Plenty of evidence suggests that when working in a team, members tend to lean towards one key member, which discourages individuals to brainstorm themselves.

Another compelling reason not to say that group activities can teach more important skills than personal ones is that teamwork cannot be useful in some circumstances. First, if people without the same goal work in a group, the more likely they will end up arguing all the time and getting unwanted results. The implication of this is that if one does not have like- minded team mates, they cannot be able to learn anything from working with each other. Second, there are a variety of skills could be learnt better through personal activities than group ones. For example, after several times of fall, a child can learn how to walk by himself without the help of anyone.

In conclusion, although it is clear that teamwork is an indispensable part in our lives, personal activities play an important role in learning crucial skills for life. In order to bring out one’s potential, we need to find the best mix of the two types.