In this technological era, personal information is held on computers bt many companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The practice of storing privative information of customers on companies’ servers has become increasingly popular these days. From my perspective, although there are some advantages to consider for both the companies and customers, I think the disadvantages of data privacy are more considerable.

The act of creating and maintaining a database of personal information of users is beneficial in a few aspects. Utilizing machine learning and advanced data technologies, an enterprise may have a better understanding of their customers. It means that better services may be provided or more products may be made to exactly suit customer needs. Furthermore, it is convenient for consumers to continue to use the products from these firms. Those who use electronic wallets, for example, may get their transactions done in a matter of seconds providing that their identity and biometric data are available on the websites.

However, despite these advantages, when personal information is kept on the database of their product or service provider, it can be associated with some disadvantages. Companies may sell this data to advertising agencies which then bombard consumers with a huge number of advertisements on all digital media platforms and social networks, Facebook, Twitter for instance. Consequently, consumers are constantly annoyed by the Internet. In addition, from an information security perspective, such practice is even more problematic as there is a risk that sensitive data of the users is compromised. As a result, hackers have access to users’ personal details and they may blackmail the users or withdraw the money from their bank accounts.

All things considered, the storage of personal data of users on online platforms is advantageous because of its convenience and helping companies improve customer experience. The benefits are dwarfed by substantial disadvantages, including personal data security breach and annoyance from the advertisements users has to experience when they are online.