Technologies have developed very fast in the past 100 years. However, some people think that technological progress has brought negative effects on the humanity. Agree or disagree?

Over a century of rapidly growing, technology is argued to place a number of harmful impacts on human life. While I accept that technical upsurge caused many considerable issues, this is by no mean that its advantages are ignored.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are various threats result from technological advancements. Firstly, the appearance of modern and efficient machinery seems to replace the human labour in the factory, which leads to the significant increase in unemployment rate, even in the developed country like the US. Secondly, people have a tendency to become lazy and depend too much on the technology. For instance, youngsters prefer a virtual life by making friends and interacting using the computer rather than a face to face meeting, students choose to study from home via the internet instead of attending formal classes. More importantly, the rising of crime rate, especially juvenile delinquents, is as a result of technological development. Huge numbers of youths have hopelessly been addicted to the game online which contains many offensive contents and they sometimes apply the violent and sexual images which they have been exposed from the internet into practice.

On the other hand, this development has extremely positive impacts on almost all aspects of life. Technology offers opportunities to maximize the work productivity which all businesses are wanted. For instance, business people can quickly interact with the colleagues from the different countries to make a deal without ever meeting each other via email, phone or video. Furthermore, the availability of new communication technology allows the world to be closed together, people can easily make friends, updating global information, exchanging cultural and traditional values.

In conclusion, although it stands for a reason that technology is hurting some of our life qualities, its achievements should be recognized as an indispensable part of our modern life.