telecommuting refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their office using computer technology. telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expencted to be common for most office workers in the coming decade

how do you think society will be affected by the growth of telecommuting?

Telecommuting is becoming popular in many countries. The more widespread telecommuting approach is used by various companies, the more significant it would be in affecting our societies and life-style.

Telecommuting has its own advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, it can omit the time each employee must spend on commuting from his home to his workplace. Furthermore, it saves the transportation cost and reduce the monthly expenditures of workers. For instance, in Tehran it takes averagely 30 minutes for each person to go to his office and depend on the transportation mode he chooses to commute, he would be charged from 5 to more than 100 thousand Toman. Moreover, telecommuting lets companies hire more suitable employees from further distant locations. For example, there are many starts up in Tehran whose workers live in different part of the country.

On the other hand, telecommuting has its own drawbacks. Firstly, it makes companies more dependent on Internet accessibility and technological equipment. For example, an Iranian expert who collaborate in international companies should have access to reliable internet connection and also computer, webcam and other needed tools to communicate. Secondly, it deprives people from face-to-face communication and having deeper mental connection. Finally, it could lead to health problems because it motivates people to stay at home and lay down without any physical activity.

In conclusion, telecommuting has many benefits which outweigh its negative sides. With this in mind, it would be great if authorities could make a delicate balance in using telecommuting in workplaces and implement supplementary policies to cover its disadvantages.