Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others.

Do you agree or disagree?

Television's objective is as one of the media that brings many advantages for people since it was first launched. It gives access for people in order to recieve new information from anywhere, no matter how far the distance is, such as from different countries, continents or even outter space. It is not only able to change the way people think, but also the way they act because it gives comparison for the audience about the people from other cultural backgrounds. However, it cannot be neglected that television also carries negative impacts. The emphasis is about the audience's habit which tends to be lazier and becomes more introvert from their society. This lack of awarness is considered as one of the serious impacts of TV programmes nowadays.

Before discussing the recent condition of society, in 30 years back, TV was one of the media that could help people to build the community. In Indonesia for example, in certain rural areas, only a few families had the ability to purchase a TV, so that most of them invited their neighboors to enjoy it in their free time. Besides spending leisure time together, they also had the chance to improve their awareness in society yet that happened before every family had a television at home. When people start enjoying their leisure time with their own TV, it can lead to a lack of awareness among the neighboorhood.

Compared to the situation today, people tend to have more ignorance from others, because many media support them to have less face-to-face contact from their surroundings. Even though TV can support the public to acquire knowledge and new information, at the same time it reduces the community's function and creates laziness. This phenomenon also happens due to the emergence of online social media. Both these media contribute to the new life-style changer in their era and the issue of idleness and passiveness also becames the same problem shared by them.

To summarize, TV is considered as one of the media that can help people to improve their knowledge and to explore more atractive information because of its visual effect, as long as people can manage their time while watching TV. Therefore, the drawbacks such as the lack of awarness and the increasing of laziness can be prevented.