Televisions influence the development of the creativity of children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Television is among the great inventions of humankind. With regard to the influence of television, some people believe that it has negative impacts on children's development of creativity. Personally, I disagree with this statement.

Firstly, television is an effective tool to boost children’s creativity. There are a wide range of TV programs on arts and handmade skills that cultivate children’s cognitive development, and creativity is a part of this development. For example, Arts House, a ten-year program on DIY (do-it-yourself), is exceptionally well-known in Vietnam for its creative contents. No matter how long it airs on TV, normally up to one and a half hour, the viewership is always high because of its extraordinarily impressive tips and tricks on making handmade stuffs. This instructs kids to make stuffs steps-by-steps, as a result, kids can practice at home and modify the instruction to create new things.

Secondly, television initiates children’s inspiration to discover new things. Programs like adventures or geography not only enlarge children’s knowledge but they also enhance children's motivation to research deeper insight nature and science. Take National Geographic, a TV channel, has many kid-friendly contents to circulate knowledge on nature to the under-16 age group, for example.

However, those who feel television negatively affects the growth of children might argue that there are a number of improper programs that have bad effects on children by its violence or pornography. To the most part, the competent authority shall have obligation to prohibit such contents by strict policies.

In conclusion, I believe that television will not influence children’s creativity. But meanwhile, the government and parents should prevent the unhealthy contents from airing on TV at their best effort.