The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and

emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the

society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge and experience.

It is true that media channels have placed more emphasis on negative rather than positive

content. While the public can reap certain benefits from this phenomenon, I gravitate

towards the idea that this do more harm than good.

The focus on pressing issues and urgent situations can make some contributions to the betterment of society. Firstly, news coverage of emergencies helps citizens to keep abreast of current situations, thus can be pro-active in avoiding them. For example, when being informed in advance about the coming of a storm, the residents of a city can plan to evacuate to a safer place, thus minimizing possible casualties. Secondly, when negative developments make the headlines, this often raises the awareness of the public about the need of changing our society for the better. A telling example is that constant reports on the extinction of rare and precious animals resulting from human activities have incentivized Vietnamese youth to engage in voluntary campaigns to safeguard the nature.

On the other hand, the aforementioned pros are still overshadowed by possible cons. One demerit is that in order to earn profits or boost ratings, some media houses often put out sensational news that can make unwary readers to develop distorted viewpoints about certain events. For instance, Channel 14, a popular news channel in Vietnam, often exaggerate celebrities' scandals or trivia, causing the public to lose trust in the news industry. Furthermore, sometimes these uncertified news can lead to more serious consequences such as social unrest or chaos. In Vietnam in 2017, some traitors abused news channels to broadcast propaganda in order to defeat the Communist Party of Vietnam, throwing the public into a state of panic and fear, which then needed a lot of efforts from the government to pacify.

In conclusion, in my opinion, although the propensity of the news media placing too much emphasis on adverse events or emergencies is beneficial to some extent, the merits of this trend are eclipsed by potential risks.