Cycling is a healthier and environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular.

What are the reasons for this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Stepping into the 21st century when human beings are entitled to a wide range of chances to improve the standard of living, pedalling has been arousing people around the world’s concern. As a matter of fact, no matter how beneficial for health and the environment, cycling is not widely enjoyed. Therefore, the objective of the following essay is to elaborate causes and to look at reliable methods to popularize cycle.

There is no denying that numerous culprits account for the above problem, among which the primary one is that bike, a low-speed mode of transport, harnesses more time to commute since the average speed of cycle is about 7km/hour, equal to a tenth of cars. In other words, due to hectic life, people are not allowed to spend much time on transport, which puts them off using bike. Another reason which should be cited is that pedalling is physically demanding because of its human-powered form of travelling, cyclists have to sweat heavily when the weather is hot. For those reasons, although how healthy for enhancing physical health and advantageous for alleviating CO2 footprint, not many people opt for this transport mean.

In other to tackle this issue, the countless measure has been applied. Firstly, it is essential to raise benefits for cyclists to compensate for the aforementioned constraint. For instance, in Japan, bikes are provided free of charge at some particular public places, or in London, England, bike riders have incentives based on distance moving by bike, which has shown to be effective because cycling is gaining popularity as a low-carbon product in these cities. Above all else, individuals themselves should be more cautious about their lifestyle regarding preventing diseases caused by sedentary lifestyle, the residents, thus, need to take up exercises regularly such as biking as burning redundant calories. As a result, there are distinct therapies to deal with this problem.

In light of these facts, despite the issue being arduous, it is insurmountable to solve.