The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, the news reporters tend to focus on problems and emergency issues rather than positive developments in our society. Some people believe that this could harm both individuals and our society as a whole. I agree to the certain extent, however there are some definite issues to consider which will be further discussed in this essay.

Broadcasting social problems in the media give a rise to several negative effects to our society. First and foremost, it would be a bad example to follow especially for childrend. For example, there is suicide news on television which was seen by childrend. This might be the case that those young who have school problems, or problem with their parents will be encouraged indirectly by contents in television to commit a suicide when they are alone using methods from the media. Another point is that reporting bad situations in inappropriated level brings about a mental effect to some people. For instance, some people avoid to travel by boat due to receiving several boat accidences news in that time.

On the other hand, problems in our society spreaded via medias resulting in various positive effects. First, it would be a trigger for many people to realize their responsibility to protect our society from current issues. For example, people receive news related to the increasing rate of drug abuse problem among teenagers leading to finding a way to teach their childrend to have a good behavior and live without drug. What is more, these news will also result in people being up-to-date and well-prepare for the problems they have to face in their life. The PM 2.5 dust is a good example for this claim. In Thailand, there is a rise of PM2.5 dust which harm people health in Bangkok, capital city. According to the news in media, many Bangkok resident aware of this situation and finding ways to protect themselve and their family.

In conclusion, social problems news in media could bring many negative effects to our society especialy that it would be a bad example for childrend and could effect to people’s mind. Nevertheless, it would be an effective way to encourage people to protect our society and prepare of any threat to their life. In my opinion, I think the benefits of focusing on reporting our social problems outweigh drawbacks.