In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In many societies these days, advertising has been used widely for promoting new products in recent years. Interestingly, many companies tend to advocate the idea of their products being new. In this essay, I will outline the major cause of this situation and give my honest opinion.

To a certain extent, businesses usually highlight their goods to be brand new have an intention of increasing their earnings. Needless to say, most entrepreneurs have an objective of maximising their profits and to achieve this requires labelling their manufactures to be up-to-date. For instance, Ford, a reputed motor company, released their new vehicles a few days ago. What made it stands out is that Ford declared their new manufactures are comprised of materials that were newly developed. Hence, the consumption of products escalates significantly and they are eventually sold out. By this, I mean that the general public often buys trendy, prevalent products so that they could keep up with each other due to the bandwagon effect. As a result, people are easily influenced buying products when they are said to be new. Meanwhile, companies could gain a massive interest so this approach has been manipulated frequently nowadays.

While this method could encourage people to purchase products, I doubt it is a brilliant attempt as this is associated with creating confusion in most cases. Even though companies always state their items are invented with the combination of new technology, the so-called new items have a similar function, compared to existing goods in our markets. Research by the University of Oxford claimed that there have been millions of new products over the last decade but the vast majority of their categories are exactly the same. Therefore, this would contribute to a flow-on effect that people may start to distrust corporations and their new products. Worse, consumers are likely to protest against those companies, which would lead to the lack of confidence to those new items.

To conclude, I completely disagree with claiming manufactures to be new all the time. Although it is a commercial strategy that could skyrocket their sale, they are noticeably identical to one another in many circumstances. Furthermore, customers of those businesses would have a sense of being scammed and not to purchase anything from those companies anymore. In what way is advertising goods to be new beneficial both to companies and to customers?